Business process re-engineering is a means of maintaining the effectiveness of public services as public needs and expectations change over time, and as innovation in process and technology provides opportunities for changing the way services are delivered.

Re-engineering involves rethinking and redesign of the processes being used to deliver a service in order to achieve the underlying objectives more effectively. At its heart, re-engineering involves stepping outside existing organisational boundaries and seeing the service process and its objectives as a whole, so that opportunity to deliver the service in ways that achieve better outcomes can be found.


To help government agencies – whether individual departments or several departments under one or more policy bureaux – undertake business process re-engineering, the EU can offer a range of support, including:

Consultancy study

Consultancy study

it helps to identify underlying issues and problems and develop practical solutions, whether through adoption of new technology or new service practices.

Change management

Change management

re-engineering often requires changes in long established ways of doing things. Change management is the discipline of managing change through engagement of the staff who will be affected, drawing on their insight and helping them to understand and adapt to the change. EU teams can help to engage staff through the entire change process to foster their understanding and involvement. Where necessary, we can arrange or provide training and support to help staff in adjusting to the new practices and help reduce anxiety and stress that can be brought by change.

Implementation

Implementation

the best recommendations are of no value unless successfully implemented. EU teams can work together with departments to implement recommendations from consultancy studies in a project management or project advisory role, in detailed planning or in system development. We can also assist in the important step of post-implementation review, to help capture learning that can be applied to further improve services.




Some examples of business process re-engineering supported by the Efficiency Unit over the last five years are:


Project: Electronic Radiation Licensing and Services System (ERLS)

We helped Department of Health (DH) re-engineer the core business processes for its Radiation Health Unit (RHU), design the “to-be” process supported by a new system, and implement the new system to ensure accomplishment of the project objectives. As the project manager for system implementation, our main duties include collecting user requirements, designing workflows, assisting in procurement and contract management, and testing the system functions.


The ERLS is now used by DH staff, licence applicants as well as service subscribers through the internet. It provides workflow and case management functions to support the licensing and related operations of DH. It is open to applicants and service subscribers for submission and tracking of the status of their applications online. The new process has brought about improvement in the transparency and efficiency of the licensing service for radioactive substances and irradiating apparatus, personal radiation monitoring services, and service on medical examination of radiation workers.



Project: Case Management Cum Tracking Facility (CMTF)

We worked with Social Welfare Department to improve the transparency and efficiency of its licensing operation for residential care homes for the elderly and people with disabilities.


The licensing process was re-engineered with the introduction of a new system, CMTF. Adopting a risk-based inspection approach, the system links and matches the inspection frequency with the risk profile of individual homes, helping to rationalise the allocation of resources for carrying out inspections.


The system provides application tracking facilities to increase operation transparency. It also supports case management work regarding licence application processing, routine inspection scheduling, complaint handling and health worker registration.



Project: Tree Management Information System (TMIS)

We helped Tree Management Office of Development Bureau rationalise processes in tree management, in particular in respect of identifying risky trees and following up of mitigation measures. The new processes involve the use of TMIS which provides a common platform for departments involved in tree maintenance. Apart from enhancing efficiency in daily operations, it also supports the annual tree risk assessment exercise and provides information to facilitate decision making at operational and management levels.


Duplicated effort in handling tree inspection data was minimised with the use of mobile devices for on-site inspections. Tree data was also aligned between departments. This marked the first step of establishing a central tree database in Hong Kong. An agile and prototyping approach was adopted to shorten the implementation time and ensure active participation from all user departments. Upon system live-run, we provided group training and individual support to help staff adapt to new practices. With its cloud architecture, TMIS is flexible, scalable and well-prepared for new needs in tree maintenance in future.



Project: Improving Communication with the Public

FULL STORY

We operate the 1823 contact centre to handle enquiries for a wide range of departments. One of the things we do is to look at the nature of the calls received, to assess whether we could help avoid the calls altogether through better design of the information put out or clearer communications from departments. Through this approach, time and effort by citizens to find information they need can be saved and the cost of handling the calls for departments can also be saved. One noticeable example is the Student Financial Office (SFO). During the payment months for the financial assistance for primary and secondary students, we helped reduce the number of calls on SFO matters by over 60%, saving 18,000 hours for the public and avoiding 110 man-months of staff effort for 1823.

公眾對公共服務的需要和期望隨時間變化,而科技創新為改變服務提供的方式締造良機。要維持公共服務的效益,業務流程重整是一個途徑。

重整涉及重新思考和重新設計服務提供的流程,務求更有效地達到目標。重整的中心概念包括擺脫現存組織的規限,整體地看待服務的程序和目標,找出能達到更佳成果的機會。


效率促進組可以提供多種支援,協助政府單位--無論是個別部門或一個或多個決策局轄下的不同部門--進行業務流程重整。這些支援包括:

Consultancy study

顧問研究

協助找出根本問題和制定實際可行的解決方案,包括採用新技術或新的服務方式。

Change management

變革管理

重整往往須要改變行之已久的行事方式。變革管理是透過讓受影響的員工參與和參考他們的意見,協助他們了解並適應變化,以配合變革的推行。效率促進組團隊能協助變革過程中的溝通工作,促進受影響員工理解和參與其事。如有需要,我們可安排或提供培訓和支援,協助員工適應新的工作方式,並紓緩由改變引致的焦慮和緊張。

Implementation

實施

建議再好,也要成功實施才有價值。效率促進組團隊可以和各部門合作,以項目管理人或項目顧問的角色實施顧問研究中的建議,參與詳細計劃或開發系統。建議實施後,我們可以協助檢討工作,以總結經驗,改良日後服務。




過去五年效率促進組支援過的業務重整例子包括:


相關項目: 電子輻射牌照及服務系統

我們協助衞生署重整其放射衞生部的核心業務流程,設計新系統和相關程序,實施這個新系統並確保其達到目標。作為系統實施的項目管理人,我們的主要職責包括收集用戶需求、設計工作流程、協助採購和合約管理,以及測試系統功能。


現時衞生署員工、牌照申請人及登記用戶均可透過互聯網使用電子輻射牌照及服務系統。系統設有流程和個案管理功能,支援衞生署的發牌和有關運作。申請人及已登記用戶可於網上提交申請和追蹤有關進展。新程序提高了放射性物質和輻照儀器的牌照服務、個人輻射監察服務及輻射工作人員健康檢查服務的透明度和效率。


相關項目: 牌照申請追蹤及個案管理電腦系統

我們和社會福利署合作,改良該署安老院和傷殘人士宿舍牌照事務的透明度和效率。


重整發牌程序的一項重點是引入個案管理及追蹤設施這個新系統。該系統採用以風險為基礎的巡查方式,巡查密度按個別安老院或宿舍的風險狀況而定,讓巡查工作的資源分配有更合理的安排。


系統提供追蹤申請進度的設施,以增加運作的透明度,也支援個案管理工作,包括牌照申請處理、巡查日程編排、投訴處理和保健員註冊事宜。


相關項目: 樹木管理資訊系統

我們協助發展局樹木管理辦事處重整樹木管理的程序,尤其關於識別有風險的樹木和跟進緩解措施。新的程序包括採用樹木管理資訊系統,為所有相關部門提供一個共同平台。除提高日常運作的效率外,這個系統也支援年度樹木風險評估,並提供資訊,協助執行員工和管理層作出決策。


於實地檢查時使用流動裝置有助減少重複處理數據,並可以將不同部門的數據劃一。這系統標誌著成立全港中央樹木數據庫的第一步。採用靈活、原型試行的模式能縮短實施時間,並確保所有使用部門積極參與。系統運作後,我們提供集體培訓和個別支援,幫助員工適應新工作方式。樹木管理資訊系統的雲端架構既靈活亦方便擴展,有利於應付日後所需。


相關項目: 改善與公眾的溝通

了解更多...

由我們負責運作的1823 替不同部門處理查詢,我們其中一項工作是檢視來電性質,評估能否透過改善資訊發放的安排或加強部門溝通,從而免卻某些電話查詢。這個方式既可節省市民尋找資訊時所花的時間和精力,也節省各部門處理查詢的成本。一個顯著例子是學生資助處。在發放中小學學生資助的月份內,我們協助學生資助處減少了超過60%有關的查詢、節省公眾18,000小時、以及減省了相等於一個1823員工110個月的工作量。