The aim of performance measurement is to provide information to users of public services, so they know the standards that are being attained, and to the providers of public services so that they can identify where quality needs to be maintained or improvement made. Identifying indicators that reflect real value to service users and enable providers to learn and take effective action requires careful thought and regular reflection.


The Efficiency Unit has taken a number of steps to help departments and bureaux develop effective performance measurement over the past two decades, including giving advice on setting up vision, mission and values statements, launching performance pledges, sharing of best practices in performance management through workshops and reports and by publishing guidelines. Recently we have been piloting an index-tracking performance management tool, the Efficiency Unit Sustainability Index (EUSI), with a couple of departments.


Hong Kong Government Service Excellence Index

Public satisfaction with the quality and efficiency of public services is a useful measure of the overall performance of government departments. Each year since 2009, the EU has commissioned an independent organisation to conduct a survey to collect and assess citizens’ views on their experience with public service delivery to gauge their satisfaction level towards public service performance and help identify areas to which attention needs to be given in order to improve the quality of service delivery. Since 2011 a matching survey of public satisfaction with private service delivery has been conducted to provide a point of comparison.

Year 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016
/17
SEI (Government Services) 63.9 64.0 63.8 64.0 64.5 64.9 63.2 63.5
SEI (Private Sector Services) - - 58.8 60.0 61.7 60.4 59.9 61.0


Post Implementation Review

A very effective tool for helping an organisation assess performance and convert experience into useful learning is the Post Implementation Review (PIR). These serve to evaluate whether a project or programme has achieved its intended objectives and to capture learning points for improvement to the project or programme under review or for use in future work. The Efficiency Unit has published a User Guide to PIR which provides a general framework and guidelines for conducting PIRs. Management Services Officers can offer advice to departments on the design and conduct of these reviews. (Development Bureau and the Office of the Government Chief Information Officer issue particular guidance on review of works projects and ICT projects)

Efficiency Unit Sustainability Index (EUSI)

EUSI is a performance management tool developed by the Efficiency Unit which can be customised to support the needs of individual departments. The objectives are -

to help public organisations in rethinking and clarifying their mission and values

to measure performance holistically and effectively against their strategic goals

to foster a culture of striving for continuous improvement and all-round excellence



EUSI aims to help a participating department to evaluate how best its core services are delivered and the extent to which it is meeting different stakeholders’ interests, such as by contribution to the economy, community engagement, environmental impact or staff development, etc. EUSI generates a comprehensive index, various sub-indices and trend analysis. By examining the trends, managers of the department will be able to better assess how well their department is achieving their mission over time and so be able to make more informed decisions over priorities and resource allocation so as to secure improvement in performance over time.

服務表現衡量的目的,是要提供資訊予公共服務使用者了解有關服務所達到的水平,亦讓服務提供者識別哪些服務品質需要保持或哪些地方需要改善。要制定一套既能向服務使用者反映真實價值、又可幫助服務提供者學習和採取相應有效行動的指標,必須經過持份者深思熟慮,並定期作出檢討。

效率促進組在過去20多年間採取了多項措施,幫助各部門有效地衡量服務表現,包括提供有關確立願景、使命和價值宣言的建議、推出服務承諾、和透過舉辦工作坊、發表報告及出版指引去分享服務表現管理的最佳做法。近來我們與個別部門進行先導計劃,推行一套利用指數追蹤服務表現的管理工具-效率促進組可持續發展指數(Efficiency Unit Sustainability Index – 簡稱EUSI)。


香港政府服務優勢指數

市民對公共服務質素和效率的滿意程度可作為衡量政府部門整體表現的指標。自2009年起,效率促進組每年均會委託獨立機構進行調查,收集和評估市民使用公共服務後的意見,用以量度他們對公共服務質素的滿意程度,並找出那些範疇需關注,藉此改善服務質素;而由2011年開始,我們亦加入私人機構服務滿意程度的對應調查,以資比較。

年份 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016
/17
服務優勢指數(政府服務) 63.9 64.0 63.8 64.0 64.5 64.9 63.2 63.5
服務優勢指數(商界服務) - - 58.8 60.0 61.7 60.4 59.9 61.0


項目推行後檢討

在項目推行後進行檢討,有助機構衡量表現,並將經驗轉化為知識。透過檢討,可以評定一個項目或計劃是否達到預期目的,並從中取得可供學習之處,以改善該項目或應用於將來工作。效率促進組出版了《項目推行後檢討使用者指引 (只有英文版)》,提供進行項目檢討的大綱和指引。管理參議主任可以為其他部門的項目檢討給予設計和執行方面的建議。(關於工程和資訊及通訊科技項目的檢討,發展局和政府資訊科技總監辦公室發表了特定指引。)


效率促進組可持續發展指數
(EUSI)

EUSI 是由效率促進組開發的一套管理服務表現的工具,能按個別部門的需要度身訂造,它的目標包括:

協助公營機構重新思考和釐清其使命及價值

根據策略性目標,整體而有效地衡量表現

促進精益求精、全方位表現卓越的文化



EUSI旨在協助參與部門去評估其核心服務的水平及滿足不同持份者利益的程度,衡量的指標包括經濟貢獻、社區參與、環境影響或員工發展等。EUSI包含一個綜合指數、其下不同的分類指數及趨勢分析。部門管理層透過審視指數的趨勢,能更有效地評估其部門達致使命的進度,從而於緩急先後及調配資源上作出明智決策,以確保服務表現得到持續改進。