Privacy Policy

The Efficiency Unit (EU) sees the protection of personal data privacy as of vital importance in maintaining public trust in the public service. We are committed to implementing and complying with the data protection principles and all relevant provisions under the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance (Cap. 486) ("PD(P)O").

Kinds of Personal Data Held

EU holds the following five broad categories of personal data -

  • Consultancy records, which include personal particulars of personnel of consultancy firms, records of company representatives of consultancy firms listed on the General Management Consultancy Portal (GMC) maintained by EU, and personal particulars of participants of user research for consultancy projects.

  • Youth Portal (YP) records, which include email addresses of the subscribers of YP newsletter, and personal particulars of individuals and personnel employed by organisations who provide content input or participate in the surveys / events organized by YP.

  • Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship Development Fund (SIE Fund) records, which include personal particulars of the Chairman and Members of the SIE Fund Task Force, as well as individuals and personnel employed by organisations who participate in the activities organized by the SIE Fund Secretariat, show interest or make enquiries, suggestions or complaints related to the fund.

  • Employment-related records, which include job applications, employee personal particulars, education and qualifications, employment history, salary and allowances, terms and conditions of service, housing benefits, medical records, leave and passages, training, investments, outside employment, performance appraisals, promotion board assessments, conduct and discipline, and retirement and pension, etc.

  • Other records, which include administration and operational files, minutes of meetings, quotations and prices of purchased stores and services, requests made under the Code on Access to Information and the Privacy Ordinance, and enquiries and complaints made to the Unit, through which the personal identity of individuals can be ascertained.

Main Purposes of keeping Personal Data

Personal data held in -

  • Consultancy records are kept to assess the capability of consultancy firms and for the monitoring of consultants' performance, for registration of GMC firms to assist bureaux/departments in their procurement of management consultancy services, and for analyzing behaviours and preferences of public service users in research projects;

  • YP records are kept for issue of YP newsletter and communication purpose;

  • SIE Fund records are kept for communication, promotion and publicity, and handling of enquiries, suggestions or complaints;

  • Employment-related records are kept for recruitment and human resource management purposes, relating to such matters as employees' appointment, employment benefits, termination, performance appraisal and discipline, etc.

  • Other records that are kept for various purposes, which vary according to the nature of the record, such as administration of the office functions and activities, seeking advice on policy or operational matters, procurement of stores and equipment, acquisition of services, handling of enquiries or complaints and which contain personal identifiers.

Information collected when you visit our websites

The Government will record visits to our websites without collecting any personal identifiable information of users. Such general statistics are collected for the compilation of statistical reports and the diagnosis of problems with or concerning computer systems to help the Government improve our websites.

Search service on our websites is provided by an independent contractor of the Government. We are advised by the independent contractor that it does not collect personal identifiable information while serving search results through our websites. The independent contractor will share the anonymous data it collects through the search service with the Government for compiling traffic analysis on government websites. The Government will not match the data obtained from any such search activity with any personal data possibly held by the Government.

Practices

The Principal Executive Officer (EU) [PEO(EU)] is the Data Protection Officer who is responsible for overseeing compliance with the Privacy Ordinance in EU.

Collection of Personal Data

When collecting personal data, EU will satisfy itself that the purposes for which the data is collected are lawful and directly related to a function or activity of EU; the means of collection are lawful and fair in the circumstances of the case; and the personal data collected is necessary and adequate, but not excessive, for the purpose(s) for which it is collected.

Accuracy and Retention of Personal Data

Practicable steps will be taken to ensure that personal data are accurate and up-to-date. Personal data will not be kept longer than is necessary for the fulfillment of the purpose (including any directly-related purpose) for which the data is or is to be used.

Use of Personal Data

All personal data collected will be used only for the purpose for which the data is collected or a directly related purpose that is made known to the data subject before the data is provided. In so doing, the personal data collected may be transferred to parties who will be contacted by us during the handling of the case.

Security

Practical steps are taken to ensure that personal data are protected against unauthorized or accidental access, processing, erasure, loss or use.

Transparency of policy

Our privacy policy and practices can be found on the EU's website.

Breach Handling

A mechanism is set up for incident reporting and breach handling in case there is loss or leak of personal data, or there is a reason to believe that such data has been compromised. In the event of a suspected breach, the data subject concerned can write to the Data Protection Officer (contact details at below) to provide the relevant details for investigation.

Ongoing Review and Monitoring

A Data Protection Log Book is kept for registering refusal of data holding/access/correction requests as required under section 27 of the Privacy Ordinance. We keep our privacy policy statement under regular review.

Data Access and Correction Requests

Any request for access to personal data and correction should be made by completing the Data Access Request Form (OPS003) specified by the Office of the Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data and sending the completed Form to the Data Protection Officer by fax (fax number 2524 7267), by email (euwm@eu.gov.hk), or by mail to the following address -

Data Protection Officer [PEO(EU)]
Efficiency Unit
41/F, Revenue Tower, 5 Gloucester Road
Wanchai, Hong Kong

When handling a data access or correction request, we will check the identity of the requester to ensure that he/she is the person legally entitled to make the data access or correction request.

Charges

A charge will be imposed to cover the cost of photocopying personal data to be supplied in response to data access requests at the current standard charges or as otherwise provided for or approved by the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury.

March 2015

私隱政策

效率促進組認為保障個人資料中的私隱,對於維持公眾對公共服務的信心,十分重要,故此致力履行和遵守《個人資料(私隱)條例》(該條例)(第486章)

持有的個人資料種類

效率促進組持有的個人資料分為五大類:

  • 顧問記錄,包括顧問公司職員的個人資料、效率促進組主理的一般管理顧問服務網站所載顧問公司的公司代表記錄,以及就顧問研究項目所進行的用戶調查參與者的個人資料。

  • 政府青少年網站(青少年網站)記錄,包括青少年網站電子通訊訂閱者的電郵地址,以及參與青少年網站所進行的調查/活動或在該等調查/活動中提供資料的人士或機構僱員的個人資料。

  • 社會創新及創業發展基金(社創基金)記錄,包括社創基金專責小組主席及成員的個人資料,以及參與社創基金秘書處所舉辦的活動、表示有意多了解社創基金或就社創基金提出查詢、建議或投訴的人士或機構僱員的個人資料。

  • 與僱傭相關記錄,包括職位申請書、僱員的個人資料、學歷及資歷、工作履歷、薪金及津貼、服務條件及條款、房屋福利、醫療記錄、假期及旅費、培訓、投資、外間工作、工作表現評核、晉升選拔委員會的評核結果、行為及紀律、退休及長俸,等等。

  • 其他記錄,包括行政及運作檔案、會議記錄、採購物料和服務的報價單及價格、根據《公開資料守則》及該條例提出的要求,以及向效率促進組提出而可辨別當事人個人身分的查詢及投訴。

保存個人資料的主要目的

  • 保存顧問記錄中的個人資料,是為了評核顧問公司的能力和監察顧問的表現;就一般管理顧問服務網站的公司進行登記,以助決策局/部門採購管理服務;以及在推行研究計劃時分析公共服務使用者的行為和喜好;

  • 保存青少年網站記錄中的個人資料,是為了發出青少年網站電子通訊和方便聯絡;

  • 保存社創基金記錄中的個人資料,是為了方便聯絡、推廣和宣傳,以及方便處理查詢、建議和投訴;

  • 保存與僱傭相關記錄中的個人資料,是為了招聘和人力資源管理的目的,包括與委聘僱員、僱員福利、解僱、工作表現評核及紀律等相關的事宜;

  • 保存其他記錄中的個人資料,視乎記錄的性質而定,是為了不同的目的,例如管理辦公室的職能和活動,就政策或運作事宜徵求意見,採購物料及器材,僱用服務,以及處理內含可識別個人身分的資料的查詢或投訴。

瀏覽本組網站時將予收集的資料

政府會記錄瀏覽本組網站的情況,但不會收集任何可識別使用者身分的資料。如此收集的一般統計數據會用作擬備統計報告,以及分析電腦系統或與其相關的問題,以助政府改善本組網站的運作。

本組網站的搜尋服務由政府僱用的獨立承辦商提供。該獨立承辦商告知本組,他們通過本組網站提供搜尋服務時,並不會收集可資識別個人身分的資料。該獨立承辦商會與政府分享其通過搜尋服務所收集到並無記錄身分資料的數據,以便政府對各個網站進行流量分析。政府不會把從該等搜尋活動中所取得的數據,與政府所持有的任何個人資料作出比對。

實務守則

首席行政主任(效率促進組)是本組的資料保障主任,負責監察本組遵從該條例的情況。

收集個人資料

在收集個人資料時,效率促進組會先確定以下各點:收集資料的目的是合法並與本組職能或活動直接相關的;收集資料的方法就每宗個案的情況而言是合法和公平的;以及就收集資料的目的而言,所收集的個人資料是必需的,屬足夠但不超乎適度。

個人資料的準確度和保留期

本組會採取切實可行的步驟,以確保個人資料準確和不會過時。個人資料的保存時間,不會超過保存以貫徹該資料被使用於或會被使用於的目的(包括任何直接有關的目的)所需的時間。

使用個人資料

所有收集得到的個人資料只會用於收集資料的目的或直接有關的目的,而資料當事人會在提供資料前獲告知該目的。在作出上述通知後,本組或會在處理個案時把收集得的個人資料移轉給本組會聯絡的各方。

保安

本組採取切實可行的步驟,以確保個人資料獲妥善保護,不會在未獲准許下或意外地被他人查閱、處理、刪除、使用,或遭喪失。

政策透明度

我們的私隱政策及實務守則已上載到本組網站。

處理私隱遭侵犯的情況

如有個人資料遺失或泄漏,或有理由相信個人資料的安全已受到威脅,本組設有機制匯報事件和處理私隱遭侵犯的情況。如懷疑私隱遭侵犯,資料當事人可致函資料保障主任(聯絡方法見下文)提供相關資料,以便本組調查。

持續檢討和監察

本組根據該條例第27條的規定備存保障資料記錄簿,記下拒絕持有/查閱/改正資料的要求。本組並會定期檢討私隱政策聲明。

查閱和改正資料要求

如欲查閱或改正個人資料,請填妥個人資料私隱專員公署指明的《查閱資料要求表格》(OPS003),並把填妥的表格以傳真(傳真號碼:2524 7267)或電郵(電郵地址:euwm@eu.gov.hk)方式送交資料保障主任,或郵寄至以下地址:

香港灣仔
告士打道5
稅務大樓41
效率促進組
資料保障主任[首席行政主任(效率促進組)]

在處理查閱或改正資料的要求時,我們會核實提出要求者的身分,以確保該人在法律上有權提出查閱或改正資料的要求。

收費

對於因應查閱資料要求而提供的個人資料,本組會根據現行的標準收費,或根據財經事務及庫務局局長批准的收費,收回影印的成本。

二零一五年三月